skip to main content


Cllr Michael Burke, Dick Tuplin, Derek Giles

Two retired councillors have been made honorary aldermen by Huntingdonshire District Council at a Full Council meeting on Wednesday 20 July 2022.

Former councillors Derek Giles and Dick Tuplin were honoured in recognition of their exceptional service to the District Council.

Derek, who was a councillor for 27 years before standing down in May 2022, served eight terms of office as Ward Councillor for the former St Neots Eaton Socon Ward and latterly the St Neots Eatons Ward. He was first elected to the Council in 1991 and served until 2022, with the exception of the period 2008 to 2012.

Dick was first elected in 1998 and retained his seat as Ward Member for Sawtry for a consecutive period of 24 years until his retirement in 2022. Dick contributed to a wide range of council activities serving a consecutive 18 years as a member of the Development Management Committee until 2022.

In their new non-political positions, they will be able to enjoy the courtesy title of Alderman and may receive invitations to civic functions such as the Chair's Reception.

Chair of Huntingdonshire District Council, Cllr Michael Burke, said: "I am delighted to make Derek and Dick Aldermen in honour of their hard work and dedication to the District Council. This is the highest honour Huntingdonshire District Council can bestow and they deserve this position due to the exceptional service they have given to local people across the district. I thank them for all they have done for the District Council and the areas they served."